The unknown unknowns

I came across this quote, which I really liked, because I too feel something in what the words say, I feel the unknown unknown’s are in the space of grace.

“As we know, there are known knowns. There are things we know we know. We also know there are known unknowns. That is to say, we know there are some things we do not know. But there are also unknown unknowns, the ones we don’t know we don’t know.”

–Donald Rumsfeld
Former U. S. Secretary of Defense

and from this site, http://resourceinsights.blogspot.com/2007/01/unknown-unknowns.html

where I found the quote, I also liked the author’s insights into this. I see them as relating to choices and consequences.

I looked up Donald Rumsfeld after, trying to see what this quote was said in relation to, and found out only that it was said in a speech made February 12, 2002.

So many 2’s there are, both in the quote and in the date.

so.. I also looked up and found this:)

http://www.lunarplanner.com/LunarMonths/lunarmonth.02.02.12.html

and wonder now if there is always a retrograde before a new moon

3 thoughts on “The unknown unknowns

  1. Hi there! {{{{tumel}}}

    I had to read and re-read that statement from Rumsfield and still came up with the same idea…the ramblings of a moron. How to say nothing in so many words. Aha! The purpose of his self expression is to confuse, rather then clarity! I got it! He can’t extend what he doesn’t have…

    Now as far as retrogrades, go, which wold be Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Neptune, Uranus and Pluto…all go retrograde according to their own cycles. The moon as fas as I know, doesn’t retrograde but has its own cycle, which may or may not be occurring at the same time as retrogrades.

    We’re getting ready to head into another “mercury retrograde” in hm….. 2-3 weeks. There is information concerning our ‘new beginnings’ happening this year, that hasn’t yet come in and it will during this time.

    {{{Hugs}}}}

  2. Argh Sue Ann, I liked it! :) it feels like Socrates or Shakespearen or the older ways of writing to me :) A poem even, open in the many meanings that can be taken.

    I see how this quote might not have come from his heart though, or that he might have used it to his vantage, but when I think this, I feel it is a judgment on my part, and only he knows if it did or not,

    and, it might not even be his quote anyways, according to Wiki, which I read today..

    “This was not, apparently, original, having previously circulated as a photocopy within the Pentagon during the 1960s[1].”

    It makes me wonder if maybe one of the Kennedy’s said it, if one form or another, but I don’t know :)

    p.s. something though that made me laugh, and thought to make you smile too,

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Known_unknown

    an unknown unknown is sometimes shortened to unk-unk

  3. I’m *sorry*…giggling…

    there’s simply too much unk, unk for me in his statement to integrate it with ‘strategic intelligence’. His position is defensive after all.

    Defense depends upon the perception of offense and offense is a perspective of separating ourselves from the experiences that have been attracted into our lives. It is a position and view of dis-empowerment and choices made from this perspective, will yield further dis-empowering experiences.

    Which is exactly what it did. The ole’ sowing and reaping thingie again…the Law of Attraction.

    I personally saw and heard JFK speak and this doesn’t sound like his flavor or tone at all. JFK was a statesman; he was able to inspire by believing in us and all Rumsfield has done, is add fuel to the fire of being insecure, afraid and impotent to do anything about it.

Leave a Reply

