My mother’s birthday

happy.jpg

Today is my mother’s birthday and I think she would say this to all who miss her.

Do not stand at my grave and weep
I am not there; I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow,
I am the diamond glints on snow,
I am the sun on ripened grain,
I am the gentle autumn rain.
When you awaken in the morning’s hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circling flight.
I am the soft starlight at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry,
I am not there; I did not die.

Author: Mary Frye.

I would also like to include here, a letter one of my sisters wrote on her birthday this year as well. I think it very beautiful.

From Annie:

During the time that you were preparing to leave this world, I did not want to let myself think about losing you. You were always the strength that I could draw from, and often when in my youth doing so, and not even realizing how much. I never did anything intentionally to make you angry although I know I must have. I remember your words and mostly the look in your eye when giving me some knowledge of which I was in need. I remember your sense of humor, you always were able to take some wacky side of something I felt so totally serious about, and make me laugh out loud. I want to let you know how much my daughter looks like me, and all the funny things she does during the days. I want to tell you that maybe now I am with a man who I can share the love I know we are meant to experience. Butterflies remind me of you, beautiful perfume reminds me of you, classic Chrysler cars remind me of you, everytime I SEE a penny, it reminds me of you. Walking through Zellers, stopping in the restaurant with Holly for a coke and fries reminds me of you. I remind me of you, all the times I play finger games with Holly, and read to Sam, and when I have quiet talks with Mac before bed, all remind me of you, Saying the Hail Mary, reminds me of you as you are the one who taught that prayer to me at the Hotel Lacerna across from Aunt Lucy’s Kentucky Fried Chicken. You were such a strong woman who was able to hold it together in the worst of times, I know that may sound corny but if there was a picture of poise, confidence, being nonchalantly able to bury someone deserving far beneath the dirt with one look, it would be you. I miss being able to call on the one person who knew me best for advise, a laugh, an inside joke, or just to say I love you, and maybe to brag about what STARS my children can be. Some days are harder then others, when it comes to the children, being able to continue patience, and tolerance, when they are screaming and carrying on, just being kids, I sometimes want to drive as far away as humanely possible. Then I remember your words always in my head, Annie, in the blink of an eye they will be gone out of your life and Then I think about the time I left home, moving out with a roommate, How you cannot take back time, but then I remember how patient you were with me, when I needed that the most. I could not have been an easy child to raise, where a lot to the time I thought I was doing it all myself, you were there gently in my shadow, ready to pick up the pieces wherever they would fall. I remember you constantly saying how absolutely fearless I was, and how that one characteristic must have made you proud and crazy at the same time. I look down and see your hands attached to my arms. I think about how much you guided my brother’s as they grew and became men, how much they both miss you now, and it hurts inside sometimes. If I can be half the mother you had been, my children will grow to be responsible, caring, loving people who respect themselves and life in general. I long for the day when we meet again in spirit, and we can be young, carefree, and thoughtlessly happy together!

a quote I would like to add as well

“The best and most beautiful things cannot be seen or touched – they must be felt with the heart.” ~Helen Keller~

Leave a Reply

